Home‎ > ‎


At Maytree our pupils follow the 2021 Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS). 
This single quality framework sets the standards that all early years providers must meet to ensure that children learn and develop well and are kept healthy and safe. 
It promotes teaching and learning to ensure children’s ‘school readiness’ and gives children the broad range of knowledge and skills that provide the right foundation for good future progress through school and life.

The 2021 EYFS is made up of seven areas of learning and development that must shape 
educational programmes in early years settings. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive. These three areas, the prime areas, are:


  • Communication & Language
  • Physical Development
  • Personal, Social & Emotional Development

Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied. These specific areas are:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design


In planning and guiding children’s activities, practitioners must reflect on the different ways that children learn and reflect these in their practice. Three characteristics of effective teaching and learning are:

  • Playing and Exploring
  • Active Learning
  • Creating and thinking critically

The level of progress children should be expected to have attained by the end of the EYFS is defined by the early learning goals which, for the prime areas of learning, are divided into the following categories:

Communication & Language
  • Listening, attention and understanding
  • Speaking
  • English as an additional language
Physical Development
  • Gross motor skills
  • Fine motor skills
Personal, Social & Emotional Development
  • Self-regulation
  • Managing self
  • Building relationships